in the 1260, originally the brotherhood used to be nearby the actual
Santa Croce Church. Then moved here at San Marco School only starting
from the fifteenth century (1437).
During the years in fact the needs of the School grew up with their
influence so that in the space of few decades the new School was
built following the project of the earlier Scuola della Misericordia.
Sadly a fire destroied the School in 1485 and even if nothing remained
of the original project, the rebuilt School was immeditely decided.
Author of this first phase of reconstruction was Pietro Lombardo
whom, thanks to some chisel workforce, thought an original project
based on the use of friezes, columns splitting, prospectical game
with insertion of windows, polichrome marbles, that immediately
gives a strong visual impact to the viewer. It was not Lombardo
the finisher of the works but Mauro Codussi, who also built the
internal stairs, called to complete the upper part of the facade.
Unfortunately the precious internal stairs wal destroied in the
1819, when was decided to transform the building in the principal
Hospital of Venice, function kept nowadays. Probably the project
of this stairs should have been similar to the one of S. Giovanni
Embellished works took place during the years but the main attraction
of this School were the paintings that many famous artists gave
as a present to commemorate San Marco: Bellinis (Giovanni
e Gentile), a young Tintoretto, Palma il Vecchio.
Works that strongly signed the popular imagination.
This story came to an end with the austrian domination that built
the militar hospital making some changements also on the facade.
Anyway the visitor will still be able to admire one of the most
fascinating building in the entire Venice.